BBA Alumni Experience: HBK Capital Management

Leave a comment

October 13, 2016 by texasbbacareerservices

katy_hbk

Katy Ellis Uzzi, UT McCombs BBA May 2003
Major: Finance, Minor: MIS
Current Title: Manager, Business Analysis Team
Employer: HBK Capital Management

Please tell us about your career path and how you found your way to HBK.

The summer prior to my senior year I had an internship at Motorola in Austin. I was hired on part-time during my senior year and became full-time after graduation. I started as a Financial Analyst for the manufacturing division and worked on inventory forecasting. After two years, I became a Treasury Analyst and was there for the spin-off into Freescale Semiconductor. During my time in Treasury at Freescale, I was involved in cash management, banking and foreign exchange. I knew that this was a much better fit for me and the area of finance I wanted to focus on. In 2006, I became a Certified Treasury Professional and started looking for a more challenging treasury opportunity. I connected with a recruiter in Dallas who recommended HBK.

Please tell us about your career at HBK.

ApplyButton_Dark_Blue_Transparent

Learn more and apply for a HBK position in RecruitMcCombs: Accounting Internship, Treasury Analyst, Portfolio Finance Analyst, Mid Office Portfolio Support Analyst. Deadlines: October 31 and November 1 and 6, 2016.

I started my career at HBK as a Treasury Analyst focusing on balance management, liquidity management, counterparty exposure and margin and financing calculations. I participated in contract negotiations for new banking and financing relationships. My MIS skills were utilized to create automated reports using SQL and while working with internal development teams to build new treasury calculations, systems, and reports. After 7 years in Treasury, I was asked to join the Portfolio Finance team for 2 years to help them create new reports and processes. This led to my current role as Manager of the Business Analysis team. We help all areas of the firm with software implementation, process improvement and special projects.

What do you like about working for HBK?

I love the culture at HBK. HBK’s core values are Integrity, Excellence, Teamwork and Fun. You can see these values in every employee. Every day I am in awe of the brilliance of my colleagues. There is always more to learn and someone willing to teach you. I just reached my 10 year anniversary at HBK, which is celebrated with a big dinner. The company also recently celebrated its 25th anniversary which included a fun happy hour at The W Hotel, a panel with our founders, a documentary film and some HBK swag. We also have fun team building events like a cooking competition, bowling competition, lamb chop fest, and events to support local charities like the Ronald McDonald House.

What skills make a person successful in this position at HBK?

The Treasury, Portfolio Finance and Mid Office teams are very collaborative. Successful team members need to be able to effectively communicate with all departments at HBK. It is also important for these team members to be able to dig into the details while also understanding the big picture. These teams are very technologically savvy so it is important to have a desire to learn new systems and be comfortable interacting with development staff. There is a long learning curve here and that requires patience and determination.

Please share your general career advice?

Keep learning. Find a career and company that challenges you. The monotony of my first job out of school was jarring for me. I actually signed up for evening classes at UT’s Extended Campus to keep my brain challenged. Now at HBK, I feel so fulfilled every day by what I am learning and how I have grown. I am energetic and passionate about contributing to the company. 

Seniors: Sign up for the HBK Coffee Chat on October 25!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

The Spellman Report

Where the Economy and Markets Meet

Leeds on Finance

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

BHP News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

McCombs BBA Study Abroad Blog

Expand Your Worldview. Immerse Yourself in New Cultures. Gain Perspective. STUDY ABROAD.

BBA News

McCombs School of Business at The University of Texas at Austin

